Since the inception of the Little League World Series in 1947, only one El Campo baseball team has made it to the finals. In 1961, Wharton County represented the national stage in the World Series in Williamsport, Pa., as El Campo took on El Cajon, Calif.

This past World Series was the 60th anniversary of El Campo’s trip.

El Cajon ultimately ended El Campo’s championship dreams, besting them in a tight 4-2 game.

El Campo’s 12U All-Stars went 12-0 in 1961, in what was a single-elimination tournament then.

The red and white All-Stars beat Palacios, Wharton, West Columbia, Texas City, Port Arthur, Houston, Big Springs, Harlingen, Lake Charles, La, Charlotte, Nc., Terre Haute, In., and Monterey, Mexico.

Since 1947 only eight teams from Texas have been in the finals. 

Two teams have won it, Austin in 1950 and Westbury in 1966.

On the 1961 team were Billy Kainer, Kenny Mueller, Delphine Rod, Mike Winfield, Dennis Morgan, David Thigpen, Herman Krpec, Alonzo Ramirez, Danny Hauser, Dan Conner, David Vaclavick, Roland Lundy, Phillip Winfield, Bill Shutt and the All-Stars manager was Woody Winfield. 

They were coached by J.L. Woodward.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.